On September 16, 2026, OpenAI began testing Sponsored Agents in ChatGPT ads. Tap an ad and you can hold a separate conversation with an AI agent built by the company that placed it.
The same day, it announced HubSpot as its first customer relationship management (CRM) partner and Shopify as its first e-commerce partner. Sponsored Agents is a test with select US advertisers; what expands internationally from September 23 is the ads app for Shopify.
OpenAI logo — Source: OpenAI
How ChatGPT ads got here
From the introduction of ChatGPT ads to Sponsored Agents — Source: self-rendered from OpenAI announcements and reporting
OpenAI announced its advertising plans on January 16 and began testing ads with adult users on the Free and Go plans in the US on February 9. Ads appear as labeled cards below the answer and are not shown on Plus or higher paid plans.
As PPC Land reported, ChatGPT ads passed $1 billion (₩1.4 trillion) in annualized revenue less than 200 days after launch and ran in more than 40 markets as of August 29. The outlet reported that ads appear on 26% of the answers Free and Go users receive.
How Sponsored Agents work
Concept image of a brand agent conversation continuing from an ad — Source: concept image · self-generated with agy
When a user taps an ad, a separate labeled conversation window opens where they can ask the advertiser’s agent about products, compare them, and move on to the advertiser’s website if they want. OpenAI’s examples are conversations asking whether a piece of furniture fits a room and how to care for a material.
OpenAI wrote that a conversation with a Sponsored Agent is distinct from ChatGPT’s independent answers, stating that the conversation is separate both from ChatGPT’s answers and from the original conversation the user was having.
| Item | Disclosed |
|---|---|
| Conversation separation and labeling | Disclosed |
| Test scope | Select US advertisers |
| Data the advertiser receives | Not disclosed |
| Model used for the agents | Not disclosed |
| Pricing model | Not disclosed |
PPC Land pointed out that the announcement does not say what advertisers receive from the conversation content or who writes the agent’s instructions.
The HubSpot integration
HubSpot logo — Source: HubSpot
From September 16, companies using HubSpot can connect a ChatGPT ads account to create ads, see performance, and manage leads that come in through ads without leaving HubSpot. HubSpot explained that it connects customer data to ad targeting and tracks whether ad spend led to actual contracts.
HubSpot offered a matching ad credit of up to $750 (₩1.05 million) for new ad accounts through September 30.
It said weekly users of the connector for using HubSpot inside ChatGPT grew 250%.
The Shopify app and ad creation tools
Shopify logo — Source: Shopify
The ChatGPT ads app for Shopify launched free for US merchants on September 3, syncing product catalogs and installing conversion tracking code. From September 23 it expands to the international markets where ChatGPT ads operate.
Three AI features were added to the ad management tools.
- Conversational management: create, edit, and analyze campaigns in natural language inside ChatGPT
- Creative suggestions: reads the landing page and suggests copy and images, used after advertiser review
- Adaptive translation: if selected, rewrites headlines to fit the conversation’s context and translates them into the user’s language
Newegg, Best Buy, Lowe’s, and VistaPrint were named among the early advertisers.
Where this touches Korea
OpenAI began an advertising pilot in Korea on June 19. In Korea too, ads are shown only to adult users on the Free and Go plans, and not on minors’ accounts or in conversations on sensitive topics such as health and politics.
For the Korean rollout, OpenAI set out principles of keeping answers independent, protecting conversation content and personal data from advertisers, and giving users choice over ads.
The list of countries in the Shopify app’s international expansion was not published, so whether Korean merchants can use it from September 23 is unconfirmed. No launch date for Sponsored Agents in Korea has been published either.
Summary
Summary card for ChatGPT ads Sponsored Agents — Source: self-rendered from OpenAI announcements and reporting
What to watch next
- Data scope: whether OpenAI discloses what information from Sponsored Agent conversations goes to advertisers
- Test expansion: the timeline for extending to advertisers outside the US and to users in Korea
- Pricing model: the billing basis for conversational ads
- More partners: the CRM and commerce partners after HubSpot and Shopify
Sources
- [PPC Land] OpenAI’s HubSpot and Shopify integrations and the Sponsored Agents announcement (2026-09-16)
- [Unite.AI] The Sponsored Agents test and ad tools, quoting OpenAI (2026-09-16)
- [HubSpot] Deepened partnership with OpenAI, ChatGPT ads integration (2026-09-16)
- [CNBC] OpenAI’s plan to test ChatGPT ads in the US (2026-01-16)
- [Electronic Times] Ads begin appearing on ChatGPT Free and Go plans in Korea (2026-06-19)
- [Mobiinside] The ChatGPT ads pilot expands to Korea (2026-06-29)
- Exchange rate: converted at $1 ≈ ₩1,400